Choosing a Fall Marathon

22 May

Per my self-promise a fall marathon is in my future. Now the question is…which one?

Baltimore Marathon v. Philadelphia Marathon

 

 

 

 

 

Pros for Baltimore:

  • Local Race
  • Have run in the festival last 2 years
  • Cool Medal & Swag
  • Awesome finish in the stadium

Pros for Philadelphia:

  • Cool City
  • Flat
  • Number of Runners (10k+)
  • Getaway Weekend with D

Obviously I’ve never run a marathon before. I’m a virgin. So I need guidance.

What’s the most important thing you look for when choosing a marathon?

2 Responses to “Choosing a Fall Marathon”

  1. Dan May 22, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    Both sound like fun. However, as it’ll be your first foray into the marathon distance, I’d recommend the local choice. If Baltimore has a more special significance for you, then you’ll cherish the course and the experience much more fondly than you would another city. That said, I might do Philly this year, so I can’t tell you NOT to do that one either.

    Good luck with the summer training!

    • m.chialastri May 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks for your advice Dan! Baltimore does have more of a special significance. Definitely leaning toward that. Good Luck in Philly who knows maybe I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

