Countdown is On

13 May

5 days until the St. Michael’s 5k.

I haven’t run a 5k in 8 months. I’m nervous. More than I was for the half marathons.

The runs over the last few weeks have been faster. It gives me a tiny bit of confidence. That little bit makes me nervous. I have an expectation. Expectations mean there is a chance for disappointment. My brain needs to stop over-thinking. Deep Breath. Woosah.

I’ve made a deal with myself. As if there isn’t enough self pressure. Pile it on. That’s what I say.

If I PR on Saturday, I sign up for the Baltimore Marathon when I get home.

That’s kind of like a reward right? Only runners would think of a grueling, painful, 4-5 hours of running, 26 miles as a reward.

What kind of rewards do you promise yourself to get through tough runs or races?

Leave a Reply

