B&A Half Marathon Training: Week 5

28 Jan

I promised myself that I would get back on track this week AND incorporate some speedwork. I want to run faster… like right now! It’s hard to be patient when building mileage and speed. I’ve come a long way, I know I have but I want more. I’m hungry which is probably a good thing.

Sunday: Rest
We relaxed all day and watched football. Excited that the Ravens are in the Super Bowl even though I’m not a Ravens fan the boys in my house are.

Monday: 3 Miles Easy
3 Miles @ 9:21 in 28:11 Intervals
I actually read about this treadmill workout earlier in the day and thought maybe it would help break up the boredom. Plus it got me doing some interval training. 5 minute warm up followed by alternating 1 min fast’ish, 2 min medium, 1 min fast, 2 min easy. It was definitely a workout and it felt good mentally that the 8:20 pace wasn’t KILLING me. Gotta start believing more in myself.

Tuesday: 4 Miles Easy
4 Miles @9:47 in 39:17
Wow that was painful but you know what….I did it! Everytime I felt like quitting I would walk for 1 minute and then try and make up for it by running at either 7 mph or 8 mph for 2 1/2 minutes or 1 1/2 minutes respectively. It may not have been pretty but I did finish. I also ran at 8:30 at night. Mistake #1…at 11 I was still wide awake. I need my beauty rest. 11pm is WAY past my bedtime.

Wednesday: 3 Miles Easy
3 Miles @9:13 in 27:38
Pushed a little harder in this one. I have 2 rest days coming up and I needed a little confidence boost to get me going for my long run on Saturday. Some days I really feel like my HM goal is unattainable. How am I supposed to run 9:10 miles when my long runs are at 9:40? I don’t get it.

Thursday: Rest
Headed to my Mom’s with little man to have dinner and spend some time with Grandma. No UNO tonight but some good conversation which is exactly what I needed.

Friday: Rest
L and her boyfriend came over and we relaxed for the evening. It was awesome. D had to work Saturday so we were in bed at a respectable hour.

Saturday: 8 Miles LSR
Moved to Sunday
With D working it was better for everyone to move this to Sunday. Went shopping with my Mom and then hung out at home with the little one.

Overall I’m really happy with this week. I got my workouts in. I pushed harder in my runs and I am going to try and keep up that intensity going into week 6!

One Response to “B&A Half Marathon Training: Week 5”

  1. @therunginger January 31, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Way to keep up with your plan! This time of year it isn’t easy to stay consistent and motivated. I know what you mean about the patience thing! I want to be cruising at. 7:30 pace effortlessly, but we all need to start somewhere! Just keep trucking.

Leave a Reply

