Next Race: Half Marathon Goal

26 Dec

It’s no secret that I’m new to running. With only 15 months under my belt I’m learning new things all the time. This is my second time training for a half marathon so “training” is a relatively new experience for me. The first time around I made two crucial mistakes:

  1. My training plan was WAY too long. Like 2 whole months too long. 21 total weeks of training for an event was just crazy. My mental toughness wasn’t there yet and I’m really not sure if it ever will be.
  2. I justified skipping runs and I skipped a lot of them. I relied on what little natural athleticism I have to get me through my half. I tried to get in every long run but in all honesty that isn’t enough. The weekday short miles are there for a reason.

This time around I have made changes to make sure that I overcome those prior mistakes. I just started this training making it 12 week training plan. 3 months is doable versus 5 months. AND I’m more committed. The commitment thing is all mental and part of being more committed is being accountable to myself. I have goals I want to attain and in order to do that I have to run all of my training runs. No matter how slow or how fast I will log all of the miles I am supposed to.

Anyway, to my goal for the B&A Half. I kind of pulled this goal out of my @ss BUT after a couple of fun runs the past few weeks I think know that I can do it! At the B&A Half Marathon I will finish in 2 hours flat.  

How do you attain your running goals? And what have you learned from past training plans?

6 Responses to “Next Race: Half Marathon Goal”

  1. Blogging Runner December 26, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Two hours is a great goal. You can do it!

    • m.chialastri December 28, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Thank you!!! I need all the positive energy I can get 🙂

  2. graceMark December 27, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    I’m training for an April half which will be my first. I’ll be following your progress. Feel free to pass along any advice you have.

    • m.chialastri December 28, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      Good Luck on your half in April! I will happily pass on anything I can.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Thoughts « Run the Tangents - January 27, 2013

    […] Jumping to running. I’m heading into Week 6 of training. Still feeling really good about a PR in a month but not so confident in hitting my true time goal. […]

Leave a Reply

