The Treadmill = My Biggest Challenge

28 Nov

I bought my Treadmill last year on Craigslist. It was an awesome deal; $50 and literally less than a mile from my house. I was ecstatic – how easy was it going to be to get through the winter when I have a Treadmill in one of the spare rooms! What a lucky girl I was…or so I thought.

That treadmill is the bain of my existence. It is horrifically boring. It is painful. It is the biggest running challenge I encounter every week.

It’s like a quick draw stand off every evening. I get changed…put my shoes on and stand in the door way of the torture room. Is it going to be good to me tonight? Is it going to be an easy/quick 3 or the longest 3 miles of my life? I never know until I take that first step…then it all becomes too clear. More often then not they are somewhere in the middle, leaning toward longest 3 miles of my life.

I have tried many tricks to convince myself that this isn’t pure misery. I watch TV, I have the fan going, I cover the time and distance with a shirt, I have my cell phone so I can grab it and attempt to push all the wrong buttons. Still, I’m miserable.

I don’t have to step on that damned thing until next Monday so between now and then please give me your best hints and tips to make this Treadmill my bestest friend!

2 Responses to “The Treadmill = My Biggest Challenge”

  1. Mary November 28, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I definitely know what you mean about staying motivated on the treadmill. I find it especially hard this time of the year after spending all of the summer and so much of fall running outside. I keep myself distracted on the treadmill by watching dvds on a portable dvd player or tv shows on an ipad – helps me a little. Good luck to you in conquering the “dreadmill”

    • m.chialastri November 29, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      I’ll have to try the ipad. The TV in that room only gets basic cable and depending on when I’m running it makes the options pretty limited. I would love to figure out how to run and read like some people can! What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

