Race: Dawson’s Fathers Day 10k

19 Jun

Talk about unprepared for a race! I haven’t been running as much as I should be and on top of that I went out with friends the night before. I didn’t drink heavily but probably more than I should have and made it to bed in time to get about 6 hours of sleep.

We (my cousin Jake and I) made it to Severna Park High with about 20 minutes to spare. Plenty of time to grab our bib and get ready to start. The race was primarily on the B&A trail which at times was a little thin for the amount of people running but by 2.5 miles in we were spread out enough that you had enough space to move. My favorite part of the race was from about 1.5 – 2.5 miles. Jake and I were bobbing and weaving, picking off one runner at a time. It was so much fun and I wish I could have kept it up for a little longer but was worried about having something left for the end.

All together the race was uneventful but I was very proud of myself for keeping positive thoughts running through my head. I didn’t have a negative thought the entire time and this distance has been my favorite thus far. The only negative that I can find was that I had too much left in the “tank” at the finish. I could have pushed harder those last two miles!

My goal was to finish in under an hour and I’m happy to report I finished in 58:13!!

“Sprinting” to the Finish Line

Leave a Reply

