Marathon Training: Week 1 Recap

21 May

The week flew by! I had scheduled 4 runs for this week. Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday (3,5,3,8 respectively). My first two runs were great. I got out of bed by 6:10 and on the road running by 6:15. The mornings are beautiful and Tuesday I got to enjoy running in the rain. One of my favorite things to do!

Wednesday and Thursday I was working a trade show in DC. The NAR Mid-Year Expo where we were launching our newest product. It was such an exciting time and everything went off perfectly. Unfortunately I missed my Thursday morning run. I think it was a combination of exhaustion and standing on my feet for 9 hours in 4 inch heels. Either way it didn’t happen. I was bummed.

Danny had to work Saturday which meant I had a choice. Move my run to Sunday or try and get David to run with me. I chose to move my run. Sunday came and I ended up toting David with me anyway. Damn…should have taken him on Saturday and then it would be done! Within half a mile David was bored and wanting to run with me rather than in the stroller. There was no way this was going to work out for me. I called Danny and told him to put on his running shoes. We were hitting the trail as a family. All in all I got in 7.35 miles. I would say we did half walking half running but more importantly we had a great time outside together.

I can’t complain – I got in 15ish miles this week. I’ll use my mulligan and start over this week. Same schedule and same miles. Hopefully it will go off without a hitch!

Leave a Reply

