Find Your Strong: What Inspires Me

11 May

I just found out that I won the Week 3 Find Your Strong Contest!!! I’m so excited – Thanks Saucony! The week 3 challenge was to share a picture of what inspires you to run. So, it’s only fitting to share with you (a little glimpse into me)

My parents always supported me, taking me to and from practice each night and hours to meets. They never missed. My Dad was that guy on the sidelines, yelling. “Margaret, you gotta whip your legs”, “Margaret! Rebound. Like This!”, “Keep your legs straight”, blah, blah, blah. It was frustrating at the time and would eventually lead to me yelling back, telling him to mind his own business. What do you expect? I was a teenager. No matter how frustrating I knew he was always proud of me, that he was pushing me to be the best that I could be, that he was a fan.

Years later (8 years) I started back at my old gym. My Dad was so excited. Asking me every night how it was going, were my skills coming back, that he always knew I was great. Each week he would try to come see me practice. I would stop in before and after to fill him in on all the details. It was a love that we shared. He just didn’t have the strength to make the trip. About a month after I started back at the gym my Dad lost his battle with Stage 4 Colon Cancer.

I never doubted how proud my Dad was of me. When I wear this necklace I know that he is there cheering me on, helping me find my strong, telling me that I can do it.

“He was my biggest cheerleader and the best fan – now he gets to run along with me instead of cheering from the sidelines”

What or Who Inspires You?


One Response to “Find Your Strong: What Inspires Me”

  1. smilesandhappiness May 11, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your dad, I’m sure he was a wonderful man. Fantastic pictures!

Leave a Reply

