How Do You Stay Motivated?

17 Apr

You are chugging away on your latest long run and you realize that umm…this stinks. Do I really have to run another 7 miles? I don’t want to run anymore, isn’t 6 miles enough for today? I’ll make up for it tomorrow right?

The mental aspect of running is one of my biggest hurdles. It is very easy for negativity to creep into my brain. My legs feel fine, my breathing is good, but I’m bored and once I admit I’m bored my body begins to shut down. I have always found it amazing the power our brain has over the feelings of our bodies.

Personally, I run a lot of out-and-back routes since I always feel better when I’m running back to my car or home. It really doesn’t matter how far I have to run back as long as I’m headed in that direction.

What do you do to keep motivated while running?

2 Responses to “How Do You Stay Motivated?”

  1. Jordan April 17, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    I’m not much of a runner yet, I am just now finally able to do 2 miles without stopping. I have a hard time pushing myself sometimes, and sometimes start to think “why didn’t I just take up dancing?” But I try to keep thinking about the end result. After I have completed a run in which I have pushed myself a little further than before, I feel amazing. I feel excited that I went further, and proud and accomplished. And usually, after a run, I feel good about myself anyway. I find that this is what motivates me the most while running. Also concentrating on all the good that it’s doing for my body, I envision my muscles becoming more defined, the fat melting off, and my body getting more toned.

    • runthetangents April 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      You are a runner! 1 mile or 26 you are a runner. Great way of staying motivated!

Leave a Reply

